FMP (Final Media Project)

PART ONE- IDEAS

MY PRODUCTION JOURNAL FOR MY IDEA DEVELOPMENT

DATE OF WEEK 1: Monday 20th- Friday 24th February 2017 (include Saturday 25th and Sunday 26th February 2017).

THURSDAY 23RD FEBRUARY: This week, I am working on the FMP known as Final Media Project and I use PowerPoint to create my idea/ develop of my final media project. I decided to look at some of the units that I studied in my two years, such as corporate video, to help me decide which of these I prefer, to create my final project. I also started to create notes of the key practitioners, for example Brent Macpherson who is Deaf New Zealand director, and other practitioners such as Bim Ajadi, who is also a deaf director for film and TV. Also Walt Disney and Nick Parker, who is an animation director, and Stan Laurel whose is the actor and director of the comedy film series ‘Laurel and Hardy’. I am also thinking about maybe creating a corporate video for the deaf TV and film industry for Camilla Arnold the director of Flashing Lights- Media Without Boundaries, and the See Hear for the Deaf presenter called Memnos Costi.

I will research their work to look through next week and hopefully it should help me to decide which of them is the best practitioner. I will also type to explain why each of is an inspiration to me such as Bim Ajadi who inspires me because he is himself Deaf and I love the way he uses the visualisation in his short film, called ‘Underwear Rule’, to raise awareness aimed at Deaf young people, to protect themselves from sexual abuse. He creates a message which is clear for deaf people, as he uses a deaf actor signing (British Sign Language). So I thought I could create a short documentary film which is about Deaf people’s experience in the mainstream colleges- how do they cope with having hearing peers and the support of a CSW e.g. It could aim at both deaf and hearing college students including the teachers. However it could also aim at year eleven deaf students.

 

Brent Macpherson inspires me because of his belief in that deaf and hearing people should have the same equality of involvement in the film industry, as he wants to see more Deaf people involved in films as this is rare.

 

Nick Park inspires me because of his animation work, especially the Wallace and Gromit series. Walt Disney- he inspires me because in my childhood I use to watch a lot of Disney such Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, Peter Pan etc. I also love the way he created animation for the Disney series, watching how using drawing in behind the scenes films, helped me to understand how it works.

Therefore, before I start this project, I need to research my sources making use of books, Internet e.g. to collect the list of both primary and secondary research including using the ‘Harvard Referencing’ system for the bibliography of evidence to give to my tutor.FRIDAY 24TH FEBRUARY 2017(11AM-11.20AM): Today I continued researching the bibliography to support my project. I am still struggling on what I really want to create for the film for my final media project I looked at my brain stream which contains the general media ideas relevant to some units I have studied over the two years such as the corporate video. Then I asked my Mum for help as I continued to struggle and she asked me which unit I felt passion about. I though deeply about it for a while then I had idea about the short documentary film. I have the imagination to create something based on deaf awareness, about a Deaf person’s life in mainstream college, and I am happy about my idea. I also thought that I could use the vlog in my short film. So my sister gave me some examples of vlogs from YouTube to help me to understand what vlog looks like. After that, I also decided to use the vlog for myself while in Exeter College and I also decided the day of the filming would be on Tuesday as it is full day, but I need to ask my tutor for permission to film in the college.

DATE OF WEEK 2: Monday 27th February- Friday 3rd March 2017 (include weekend)

MONDAY 27TH FEBRAURY 2017 (9:40AM-10AM): Today I was the first lesson with Caroline and she used a presentation to look through part one of the media production project brief. Firstly she explained what she expected from our proposal presentation- she wants to see our UAL project proposal and she said that we need to ensure we follow the limit of numbers of the word for each section. She also wants to see our production journal as well- she expects it to contain deep information such as the detail of the date and time, explain the specifics about what I do every day while doing our project. In addition, she recommended we use the link: http://www.exe-coll.ac.uk/exeCite/ to help us to find the detail of the sources we use such as the name of book, the name of the author, the date of the publishing etc. There is a lot of work to finish on part one before this Friday. She said that she will send this presentation through our email to look through. In addition I managed to print the production schedule so I can organise the time for the project. I also had a bit of talk with Caroline about my final project idea and she really liked it.

So my aim is to finish part one:

  • Complete the presentation before this Friday (COMPLETE)
  • Complete the media project proposal before adding on the presentation (COMPLETE)
  • Collect together the bibliography (must include sources such as books) from the primary and secondary research (COMPLETE)

(11:56AM-12:10PM): In the second lesson with Dean through he was not here due to sickness, I continued on with my Media Project Proposal and I managed to finish section two, though I need to print it before giving it the CSW for check my English. I also need to ask the CSW for clarification with other sections. I also continued with section five and I managed to finish my list of the primary and secondary sources; I have the books and survey from the MonkeySurvey for primary research, including the internet and YouTube for secondary research. I also used the Harvard Referencing system for the evidence of both primary and secondary research’s bibliography (date and the name of the author etc.).

(4PM-4.15PM): After lunch and British Sign Language lesson, at about 3PM, I continued on with the media project proposal section 1 and 3. Plus I decide to check on section two with CSW to ensure I answer this question correctly and after that I changed the answer of section two to follow the question correctly and also to reduce the limit of the word number- maximum of 200 words. Finally, I managed to finish section 1 and 2 after the long clarification with a CSW. Also I did a bit of section three.
TUESDAY 28th FEBRUARY 2017 (9AM-10AM): I had discussed with my parents, in FaceTime, about my idea and progress of my final project yesterday evening. They do think my final project idea is fantastic, but I feel a bit guilty about telling my parents about my idea. However, Mum says she understands how I feel, she is happy with me sharing with her and Dad about my idea because she is aware how difficult it is for me to communicate with the hearing peers. In addition she said that the hearing peers normally discuss with each other about their ideas and also help each other and it is impossible for me to hear what they say. Also last Friday they sent an email with the list of new ideas to help me to create the film. For example they suggested that I could create a survey for deaf and hearing peers- I could ask them some questions about their experience in the mainstream college so I can see what is the difference. For example, I expect that hearing peers’ lives in the college are easy because there are lots of people meet up for chats so they can listen and pick up new information from each other to help them with their course. This compares to Deaf students’ lives in mainstream college which can be difficult because they need some support to access the lecture. Dad also suggested that I could film in the Academy to represent my life in the deaf culture where I am able to communicate with my deaf peers. I am not sure about it though, I don’t know why, but I told him that I will think about it.

However, I also suggested that in the survey (for deaf students) I could add their level of deafness, for example the profoundness of Deaf students’ deafness varies and their experience could be different. When I finish with FaceTime, I wrote a note to remind me of the discussion and I decided to create the questions for a survey- one for Deaf peers, maybe later today for the preparation- it would give more time for my friends to answer the survey before the filming. I will also explain the summary of both surveys’ similarities and difference.

The summary of the day (8PM-9PM): Today I think I went well with the progress of part one. Before I arrived at the first lesson with Caroline, I worked out what I had to do with the progress of part one and also thought about the discussion with my parents about the survey, I deciding to do the survey as soon as possible because it will give more time for my friends to complete the survey. In the first lesson with Caroline which start at 10.45AM and finish at 12.15PM, we looked through part one to ensure we understand what we need to do. After that, I started on UAL media project proposal and collecting the bibliography I may use for the research on part two.

After lunch, I continued on with the proposal in LRC (1.15PM until 2.15PM). Later in the last lesson with Emily Manning which starts at 2.30PM until 4PM and I started to create the questions for the survey for both hearing and deaf peers there are twelve questions total. However, tomorrow I will need to check on part one to make sure it is complete or if it is necessary for improvement.

WEDNESDAY 1ST MARCH 2017: 

7:30PM: Today there are no lessons at Exeter college so at about 12PM, after the tutorial with my tutor, Tobin, from Deaf Academy, I checked part one of the Final Media Project brief to ensure I had already covered the information I need and I continued uploading the bibliography including the key date sheet to show my progress of my FMP plan.

Later after lunch at about 2.45PM, I managed to finish the key dates and I also practise my presentation with a CSW- my job is to ensure the CSW understands what I am signing while translating into English using voiceover which is hard because I keep signing faster which is difficult for a CSW to follow. I need to keep my signing’s pace went smooth.  When we finish the practice, the CSW said the practice looked good though she said that I need to make sure my signing remain in the same pace while she doing voiceover.
THURDAY 2ND MARCH 2017

10:45AM: Today I had the first lesson with Emily Manning which started at 9AM until 10:30AM. In this lesson I decided to check on my PowerPoint presentation of my FMP idea which I was giving to my class tomorrow at 10:45AM. I went to look through my presentation, which totals five slides, to see if it is necessary to add anything. I did add few things in my presentation, such as I needed to explain my reason for my chosen practitioners as inspirations to me such as Walt Disney because since childhood, I used to watch a lot of Disney films and I am interested in the behind the scene so I can understand how the Disney series works through animation in the old fashioned way (lot drawing). I also find it very exciting but I am aware that the progress from pre-production, production to post production take age to complete a Disney film.

After the break I continued working on the presentation in the second lesson with Emily. At 11AM I had a tutorial with Emily because she wanted to see my presentation to make sure I got covered I needed. She look through my presentation and she said she liked the way I created the development idea and show the progress for my FMP, but she also said that are four things I need to add in my presentation. Firstly I needed to find five different sources such as book, internet etc (using the Harvard Reference from the Exeter College internet) and copy and paste into on the presentation. Secondly, I needed to add the UAL Project Proposal into the presentation to show my plan of my idea proposal to create my short documentary film. For example, I will use primary research such as books to guide me into create the vlog and also creating the survey from the MonkeySurvey for both deaf and hearing peers’ experience in mainstream college so I can evaluate the similar and differences.
MY AIM:

  • Complete the presentation before tomorrow- COMPLETE
  • Complete the media project proposal before adding into the presentation- COMPLETE
  • Collect together the bibliography for the primary and secondary research (must include source such as book- CONTINUE UPLOAD)

FRIDAY 3RD MARCH 2017:

3PM-3:15PM: Today I feel relieved and good about my presentation as I received positive feedback from Lizzy and some of my peers. One of my peers, who is called Charlotte said that she liked my presentation because it is different compared to the others peers’ ideas and it is good opportunity for other peers to learn from my experience in mainstream college over the two years.

Idea development for my final media project– powerpoint of my development final idea (click it)
SATURDAY 4TH MARCH 2017:

3:25PM-3:31PM: Today I feel a bit stressed because I feel like I can’t really focus on part two, despite the fact I feel confident to do it as well. It is mixing feeling, but then I cleared my mind by deciding to do the survey first before sending it on Facebook or by email to my deaf and hearing peers to give them more time to complete it. In addition I thought that once I finish with the survey I will type the short prediction about the survey.

7PM-7:15PM: The summary of today- to be honest I don’t think I lots of the works because I am stressed lot though I managed to finish the survey, but need to get it checked by a CSW for English improvement. Hopefully this Monday, I will complete the survey and then sent this by Facebook or email to my hearing and deaf peers.
SUNDAY 5TH MARCH 2017:

11:20AM-11:23AM: Today I a feel bit better and less stressed. So, I will check the survey to make sure I covered all the questions I need before handing over to a CSW to check my English. Next thing I need to do is to start part two, which is the research. So I will continue uploading later about how far have I got with part two.
DATE OF WEEK 3: Monday 6th- Friday 10th March 2017 (include Saturday 11th and Sunday 12th February 2017).

MONDAY 6TH MARCH 2017:

7:30-9PM: Today is a bit different because normally I would go to college, but today I don’t go to college because some peers in the group need to finish doing their presentation. I spent most of the day with a CSW in the GFE room, continuing on with the survey before handing it out to a CSW to check my English. When I received the questions back, I started creating the survey in the Monkey Survey. When I completed the survey and was about to send it through social media information from the MonkeySurvey appeared and said ‘Upgrade to send your survey. To continue, upgrade to a pro plan. Or remove pro feature to send this survey for free.’ I then realised that the survey won’t let me send it because the total number of questions are twenty and it will send if it is under ten questions and I don’t want to pay it. I still worked on as I continued to research which practitioner matches to my idea.
TUESDAY 7TH MARCH 2017: Today at 9AM I continued on my practitioner research and my practitioner is to be Bim Adjah the deaf director. Firstly from the research I learnt that he used to be a DJ before becoming a deaf director and producer. He is profoundly deaf as well. I also researched his works and I found some of his works that are similar to my idea: Underwear Rule particularly being the reason for choosing him as my practitioner because his work relates to deaf awareness ‘Underwear Rule’ aims is to give the alert for deaf children to be aware that sexual abuse could happen to them and it also help the parents, guardian and teachers as there are some important people in deaf children’s life to protect them.

 WEDNESDAY 8TH MARCH 2017: Today at 2PM, after lunch, I managed to find my survey link:

 After that, I continue with the production journal to explain what I had done so far and check days to ensure I covered each day over the nearly three weeks. Then I started to research concepts, ideas and topics related to my idea and the first thing I found was BSL Zone. In BSL Zone deaf programmes are shown for deaf audiences and there are different types of genres for programmes for example ‘Found’ which is a documentary like my final media project and links to my idea. Firstly, I picked up on some idea from part of this programme the interviewing of deaf people. This inspired me and gave me some ideas on how to interview my deaf students about their experience in mainstream college and the shot style which is mid-shot and the background as plain grey. http://www.bslzone.co.uk/watch/found/THURSDAY 9TH MARCH 2017:

11:35PM: Guess what! After a long hour on working out how to send both surveys (see previously: Wednesday 8th March 2017) I decided to use Facebook to send the surveys- firstly I sent the surveys to the group called ‘Live date 19th 1PM’ group which is the same group I was involved in when we created the TV show, as they are my hearing peers and the total is eight people. After that, I set up a new group called ‘Can you help me with the survey??’ and I added my eight deaf friends and two more hearing friends in this group before sending both surveys with the message to say to complete the survey please. After that, in just a few minutes later which would be 11:39PM, one of my hearing peers from ‘Live date 19th 1PM’ complete both surveys!

Idea development for my final media project

DEADLINE :FRIDAY 3RD MARCH 2017


PART TWO: RESEARCH

PRIMARY- SURVEY:

A) What is your experience in the mainstream college like?

https://www.surveymonkey.com/analyze/NHZQs5avaxQF2NB2DLYUDrST_2BG_2Br7OlhG7u5GQNwks8_3D (show the result)

 B) What is your experience in the mainstream college like?

https://www.surveymonkey.com/analyze/q2_2BZEBvLZkVgBZMxA_2Byms2EIsiUl5oq14_2B16kOLirM0_3D (show the result)

SECONDARY- INTERNET

RESEARCH MY PRACTITIONERS: Because my final media project is the short documentary film which about my experience in the mainstream college which part of the deaf awareness and is similar to my chosen practitioner ‘s work whose is Bim Ajadi.

  • Bim Ajadi is profoundly deaf and is able to create the visualisation in his films he created.
  • Before become an director, he worked on the graphic design and 3D animation.
  • In the summer of 2012, he worked together with Channel 4 for filmed the Paralympic Ceremony.
  • In recently he directed his short film called ‘Champion of the World’ which won the award for ‘Best Film’ at Deaffest. Later, the film ‘Champion of the World’ was showed on Film4.
  • Bim Ajadi then continue his work on filming, directing, producing and editing on the general media such as wedding videos, corporate events, social events and music videos.  http://www.bimajadi.co.uk/home2

More information about Bim Ajadi:

  • Ajadi worked in TV industry for few years before becoming a director in the mainstream film where he inspires himself by create his own films.
  • His aim is create the deaf stories and bring them to the life. He also want to share these stories for the hearing and deaf audiences in the visualisation.
  • He looked at the opportunity to inspire on deaf people to become interesting on the films by create more deaf films to represents the deaf people do have the talents as the hearing as there are few deaf people working in the media industry.
  • He also wants to direct the deaf musical.

limpingchicken.com/2015/09/29/meet-bim-ajadi-deaf-filmmaker-who-is-teaching-at-the-see-hear-sign-language-weeked/

AWARDS:  He received the ‘Best British Film’ and ‘Best Director’ for the film called ‘4’. https://deaffest.co.uk/2015/03/25/film-awards-shortlist/

 

Lastly my final project is related to the deaf awareness because my aim is to make my target audience understand the difficult situation that Deaf students face in the mainstream college. This similar to Bim Ajadi’s film called ‘Underwear Rule’ which aim for deaf children to be protect themselves from the sexual abuse. Its film is launched by NSPCC (National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children). http://limpingchicken.com/2015/05/06/bsl-video-from-the-nspcc-aims-to-keep-deaf-children-safe-from-sexual-abuse/

RESEARCH MY COMPETITION: http://limpingchicken.com/2016/05/17/meet-deaf-journalist-and-documentary-maker-cathy-heffernan-who-has-just-worked-with-c4-news/

 My competition is Cathy Heffernan who is a deaf journalist and documentary maker. Last year, she created a short documentary video for Channel 4 News that was about the Deaf young people’s struggle in their education and the deaf children’s parents’ struggle to access the right communication support for themselves and their deaf child.

  • Cathy Heffernan is deaf and a producer for Channel 4 whose created the series called ‘The No Go Britain series’ which is related to disability issues and is the only item she did, although she would like to create more programs for this series in the future.
  • While working on ‘The No Go Britain series’, she also enjoyed to working with people that have very little or no knowledge about deafness, sign language, oralism Yet they find it very interesting according to her interview in the Limping Chicken.
  • She also contacted the deaf children’s parents to research their stories and information about supports for their deaf children to ensure they have a better life. She found it very inspirational but also found it depressing as well because the services are lacking support, to provide for deaf children.

Lastly, the reason of choosing Catherine Heffernan as my competition is because she created a documentary which is related to deaf issues, such as ‘The No Go Britain series’. Which is similar to my idea. In this program she uses both hearing and deaf people in her interview which is something I will do in my final project. However, the difference is that I will use the vlog for my final project.

 RESEARCH MY TARGET AUDIENCE: My specific target audience is varied. Firstly I would like for my film to be aimed at year eleven deaf students to understand about real life at a mainstream college. In addition my aim is at Teachers of the Deaf from a mainstream secondary school and the deaf students’ parents (both deaf and hearing) to help them support their deaf child and give their deaf child the opportunity to prepare themselves for the next step of their life. My last aim  is the teachers from the mainstream college, it would help them to understand about the deaf students life in the mainstream college and also give them some idea of how to support the deaf students for example accessing their lectures and communication.

  • My demographic profile of target audience would be B grade, which is the middle class because it contains a teachers job and also E which is the lowest class which contains students. However because I am also aiming at parents, their demographic grade could be variable depend on their job role. In addition my film would be interesting for deaf organisations such as the National Deaf Children’s Society (NDCS) for the part about deaf awareness- it can help other deaf students from the UK to understand what its like in the mainstream college which will give them a bit of comfort and confidence. http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/guides/zy24p39/revision
  • For my psychographics profile of target audience would be the explorer because my audience would be interested to learn and explore the experience of the deaf students life in a mainstream college. In addition if my documentary is successful then it would be useful for my audience to use it for deaf awareness teaching. http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/guides/zy24p39/revision/3

RESEARCH MY REGULATION FOR THE SHORT DOCUMENTARY: In Indie Wire website there are eight legal tips for documentary filmmakers: http://www.indiewire.com/2015/07/8-legal-tips-for-documentary-filmmakers-60449/

LIFE RIGHTS:If a person wants to create their own documentary as he or she has been researching a subject that would be interesting. However that person would want to stop other people or a group who using the same subject for the re documentary to be released. The problem is other people or a group perhaps already released their film before so a person is unable to beat them as he/she don’t have high quality materials for their film.

 WORLDWIDE RIGHTS DEALS: If you want to launch your documentary film in the worldwide, there is an opportunity for you to do it by using two different platforms like Netflix and CNN who will help you to do it. However, normally American documentaries don’t sell so much, so you need to use a professional lawyer or producer to help you think about the right target audience for your film. Maybe you want your film focus on your country which means you create more profit, but if you consider the focus on the worldwide as well, you may receive less profit because some people from different countries maybe interested to watch this film and other may not.

You need to be realistic about your film because it does not always spread into larger audiences as the documentary could be suitable for people who are interested in history or in real life and it would be shown on TV.

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS VS DIGITAL DISTRIBUTION : There are the different types of documentary subjects depend on the target audience’s interests. Normally, the documentaries would show in a festival before launching. However, some documentaries maybe only launched in few cinemas because there are few groups of people interested which means less opportunity to get launched onto the Netflix because it would have been watched by few people and the profits is less.

 RIGHTS FOR THE FUTURE: Most people who created films from the past, like in the twentieth century had a contract, which could state something like ‘For Cinemas only’. Today, in the twenty first century people, who create new films, have a contract which states something like ‘Media general’ which means now the film can be watched on TV, Internet on a computer or laptop. Unfortunately, for the people who create the film in the past who would like for their film to do the same thing, maybe are being rejected because of their contract. However there is an argument that it is impossible for people in past to make the predictions about the future.

 FAIR USE: Fair Use is a bit like copyright but it also means that people who maybe need a short clip of music or a piece of the film, for their documentary because of a reason such as education, and they would be allowed to borrow from the owner otherwise they would need to ask first for the permission before using it.

  LICENSING RIGHTS: If you want to use a piece of music or footage which belongs to an other media industry for your documentary for a short time before the premiere, you will need to arrange a contract to prove the length of the term you will use it, and also prove that you borrowed the music or footage before the premier.

  CONTRACTS: Contracts are not just for documentaries but all filmmakers. In the contracts it should contain clear information about a person’s job role. However sometime a contract can be sly as the writing in the contracts can be unclear which makes a person unsure or not understand their role.

LAWYER WHO KNOWS DISTRIBUTION: Ensure your lawyer is aware of your legal work and what’s being given to the different TV channels. You will need a professional lawyer who has the contracts of the film license to prove that the work belongs to you and no one else.

 

 

RESEARCH ANY IDEA, CONCEPTS AND TOPIC RELATE TO MY IDEA: In BSL Zone where there are deaf programmes shown for deaf audiences and there are different types of the genres for programmes for example ‘Found’ which is a documentary like my final media project and is linked to my idea. I picked some ideas from parts of this programme which was the interviewing of the deaf people which give me some idea on how to interview deaf students about their experiences in mainstream college. Parts of the ‘Found’ programme showed the interviews of some deaf people who were signing in front of a light grey background in mid shot which is easier for the audience to see the signing. http://www.bslzone.co.uk/watch/found/

The deaf organisation is called Peterborough and District Deaf Children’s Society known as PDDCS is part of the NDCS’s resources for young deaf people aged over sixteen. This information guides deaf people to be prepared for the next steps in their life in to college. However there are visualisation because there are two short videos from deaf people who share their experiences in the college. Their style of the short videos are a bit different, for example one of the videos, created by Paul (surname unknown), use brief and quick information within a colourful animation style, to make the deaf audience who would be aged over sixteen receive and understand the information quickly. Other video, created by Priya (surname unknown), uses BSL interpreter on the left to help the audience understand the information as it is written in English, which is Deaf people’s second language. However, like Paul’s, this video contains the brief and quick information within the colourful animation style to make it look excited. https://pddcs.co.uk/2012/09/25/ndcs-buzz-resources-for-16/

 National Deaf Children’s Society (NDCS) YouTube programme is about the deaf issues relate to deaf children’s life, for example deaf children support in a deaf or mainstream education e.g. some deaf awareness https://www.youtube.com/user/ndcswebteam. However I managed to find some of the vlog in this website link which is made by the deaf people, it will help to give me some idea on how to create a vlog and a example like it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8ZsWIvjlO4. This link is about a deaf girl called Ruth and she is profoundly deaf and a sign user. She creates her vlog to tell people about her experience in University Wolverhampton. She also gives some tips for deaf students who are preparing for university, for example she said that the deaf students need devices like doorbell flash because they maybe unable to hear the doorbell. Other example is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOVbe4VqjjU which is about a boy called is Ahmad Kalim who is an oralist and also a BSL user. He wears a cochlear implant. He creates his vlog to help his college to become deaf aware- he explained how he cope with his hearing peer at college which he find it difficult sometime because he felt a bit left out because his classmates and teachers were not the deaf aware. He gave tips to make them understand how they can support him to access the lecture, to get involved with in his hearing peers. For example his hearing peers and teachers could speak slowly so he could understand what he or she said about the lecture. In addition his teachers would send the information about the lecture through email to everyone in the class so Ahmad could access the lecture and understand what lecture is about. http://www.ndcs.org.uk/family_support/leaving_school/higher_education/

 RESEARCH MY TECHNICAL (TEST SHOT, ROUGH EDIT ETC):

When creating the rough edit during the pre production, the editor would have to discuss with the director about the visual of the film- what do they expect from the film. However the editor would have the notes of the edit style to use. The rough paper edit to help the director to have a clear visual of what the film would look like. https://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/how-to-find-your-story-when-cutting-a-documentary/

I can’t find any information about the documentary test shot but I found a short clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nyr9gLe_b6g which shows a person working on the film for their documentary. It is not perfect but it helps to understand what he or she is expected to do for his/ her documentary and it also help her to evaluate which areas of this film that need improvement for example in the film is not still as the person walk with the camera but a person could use Final Pro to make the film look still.

RESEARCH COSTS/ BUDGETS/ PRODUCTION ISSUES: HOW MUCH DOES A DOCUMENTARY COST TO MAKE: There are variety of the cost to create a documentary film depend on the quality and the length. For example if you want to create a minute film which cost a hundred dollars (£82.37), which is cheaper.

a) QUALITY LEVEL: If the one-minute film’s quality content looks good and sounds good and includes a clear narrative, which is of high quality and able to achieve its target, this means more cost. However if you have lots of money to spend on your film then it will mean better quality but you need to think very carefully on the planning before spending.

 b) LOCATIONS/EVENTS/ PEOPLE : The film would become more expensive if there is more than one location, more than a day of the filming, more people and events. The documentary film cost either per a day or half day. If you want to hire the smallest professional crew film then that would cost you about $1200-$3000 (£988.38-£2470.96) or more. Again, the cost would increase if using more cameras, crew and equipment. And you will need to be pay for travel to the locations for filming.

c) MATERIAL: If the documentary film contains music from a website, a piece of your favourite music or a piece of film footage then you need to pay to use it. However it can also be expensive for example if you use a well known or popular music for your film depending on the target audience you want to show it to. In addition if there are lots of people watch your film, the rights of the music you pay will become more expensive. If you want to reduce the production cost, you can create the simple storyline in the short film within one location in a day.

d) EDITORIAL CONTROL: There are cheap and expensive ways to edit and adapt the film you want. Firstly the cheap way is to review the film and give it to a film- maker to improve the film to make it more creative. You will need to have trust in this film- maker to create and deliver the film and have a clear mind of what you want this film to achieve. The expensive way is to get the film- maker to make changes to the film often, that means more cost you will have to pay. http://windsky.com.au/how-much-does-a-documentary-cost/

EVALUATE AND INTERPRET THE RESEARCH:  I used both primary and secondary research. Firstly, I did primary research, which is a survey from SurveyMonkey, and I receive six responses, which were four deaf and two hearing peers.

My survey was titled ‘What is your experience in mainstream college like?’ and divided ten questions into two surveys because the SurveyMonkey wouldn’t let me sent it through social media to my peers with the total of twenty questions as you have to pay for that. Anyway, the number one survey result show there are four deaf peers and two hearing peers which is a bit of a disappointment because I expected the total of eight deaf and hearing peers as I send the surveys to them. Anyway, I look through two surveys and the results is not what I expect at all:

  • ‘Before you started college, did you think your course will be?’ results show that two of the peers thought the course would be very easy; four of the peers thought the course would be bit hard which suggests that four peers are deaf are aware that the coursework would be bit hard but maybe not aware the difficult challenge they would face in mainstream college depend on their deafness level.
  • ‘Did you think you will have a good social life and make lots of new friends?’ result show four peers state ‘Yes’ and other two peers state ‘Not sure’ which suggests that four peers are looking forward to meet new people in the mainstream college- possibly they like being social. However, two other peers could be deaf and could feel bit nervous about meet new hearing peers and they could feel unsure about how to communicate with them.
  • ‘If you had any support needs did you expect the college to be able to manage them?’ show all six peers state ‘Yes’ which indicates that all of them feel confident about their college was able to meet their needs.
  • Did you think the teacher would be easily accessible and supportive? show five peers state ‘Yes’ and one peer state ‘No’ which suggests that five peers’ teachers are helpful as well as have a good understanding of their needs. However, a peer whose state ‘No’ represents their teacher doesn’t meet their needs.
  • ‘Was communication with teacher…’ show the four peers find it easy and other two find it ok. Four peers could use the quick way to communicate for example email which help them to receive any information or get any help related their courseworks. While two other peers could find communicate with teachers ok which mean they don’t really communicate with teacher easily no matter if they are hearing or deaf.
  • ‘Is your communication method easy or hard to communicate with your peers?’ showed three peers find it very easy; one peer finds it easy; one peer finds it a bit easy and other one finds it hard.  It represents that some peers find communicate with their peers bit easy and hard could be deaf because of some reason like for example; deaf students find it hard to hear and receive the information from a person who speaks because of the noise from the outside of the classroom, other peers in the group chatting or make other sound which difficult for them to hear- they need this room to be quiet. They possible use the CSW if necessary.
  • ‘I felt I could communicate and share their idea with the group.’ show a students felt unsure about how to share their ideas with to the group which suggests a person could be a deaf and maybe find hard to receive information from the group- it is impossible for them to do it. However other five peers feel confident to share out their ideas with their group because they able to hear some as a deaf person who wears a hearing device this may help them to receive information depend their deafness level.
  • ‘Please explain what have been the best and worst thing about college.’ students made the comment which state that she or he enjoy the course but is struggle to communicate with hearing peers and always miss out lot of information which represents that person is likely be profound deaf and is relies on British Sign Language. He or she maybe not use any hearing device which cause the difficulty communication with the hearing peers- he or she maybe use either pen and paper or texting to communicate for a short time if necessary but it is not a smooth communication method.

Furthermore, I use the secondary research tool the internet and there I found lots of sources and I find most of them are useful for example The Limping Chicken blog, NDCS (National Deaf Children’s Society) and PDDCS news website because they are reliable and contain simple information which help me to understand about issues and access their information quickly. However, they are bit different; The Limping Chicken blog is useful for me because it is fact as it typed by a deaf person about their life or about the interview of a deaf person and their life like Bim Adjadi and Cathy Heffernan which I used for the part of my research. For NDCS and PDDCS, they contain the colourful background of the website to make it exciting for a of deaf audiences- it suitable for young deaf people. However sometime the information can be long, but it is clear and simple to understand as there are no jargon words. It also contains videos which is also useful for me to help me to build some ideas on how to create vlog and what do I need for contents for my vlog.

However, some of the sources are useful for me but find difficult to understand like Indie Wire website which is about the tips about legal regulation for film makers. Despite it being hard to understand, I also find myself learning lots of new information about this source related to regulation. Indie Wire contain lot of information and I can understand nearly half of them so in often I ask a CSW for help to translate the words to understand about the regulation and it take me a bit while to work out and understand the meaning of the translation from the CSW before typing on the Word use my own words.

If I have more time for this research, I would use more of the primary research such as the books about how to create the documentary which would help me to develop the idea about what documentary would look like within type of the shots.


PART THREE: THE PITCH

MY PITCH ABOUT MY FINAL MAJOR PROJECT IDEA   (CLICK THIS LINK)

My Pitch script (this help me to know what I want to signing while a CSW translate British Sign Language to English)

DEADLINE :FRIDAY 24TH MARCH 2017


PART FOUR- PLAN IT

PRE PRODUCTION PAPERWORK

SCRIPT

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? Shot 1-13

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? (1-13 shots)

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? Shot 14-21C

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? (14-21C shots)

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? Shot 22A-30A

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? (22-30A shot)

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? Shot 30B-40

What is it like to be Deaf in mainstream college? (30B-40)

STORYBOARD

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

RECCE: 

Recce 1- my bedroom (FMP)

Recce 1: my bedroom in Deaf Academy

Recce 2- classroom (FMP)

Recce 2: classroom in Exeter college

Recce 3- cafe (FMP)

Recce 3: cafe in Exeter college

Recce 4- common room (FMP)

Recce 4: common room in Deaf Academy

RISK ASSESSMENT

Page 1

Page 1

Page 2

Page 2

Page 3

Page 3

Page 4

Page 4

 

 

 

PERMISSION FORMMy permission form for FMP

Permission form- Kola Oni

 

 

 

TEST SHOTS

Note: Most of the clips are containing the speed to reduce the time of the film.

  1. Write on the paper test shot

PART 1A

SHOT 1: This is the first clip which show I myself writing on the paper and is half a frame because it is between the two thick black frames on both sides. I think that the reason like this is because I used my mobile to film and I possible used this in wrong way but it is my first test shot. However, you can see me writing on the paper clearly though the words on paper are blurry but this is what I want for my film.

SHOT 2: In this second test shot of myself writing on the paper it has improved from the first there are no black frame though there isn’t a full frame of myself writing on the paper as it should be in some filming movements to follow my writing. I also added the effect- cross dissolve to make it more interesting.

PART 1B

SHOT 3: This shot shows myself writing on the sticky pad on my legs as I sat on the couch. It is a bit difficult for me to hold my pen using my left hand to write while holding Nikon camera in my right hand to film, it is bit heavy which cause is a bit of movement and also I find it difficult to make the full frame.

SHOT 4: Here in this clip is more improved than shot three, it contain less movement from the camera but my mobile is still in the  corner of the frame but you can see the full image of the pad. I also added the ‘cross dissolve’ effect to make this more interesting. 

2) SHOT OF MYSELF TYPING ON MY MOBILE

SHOT 5: This shows a lot of movement from the camera while typing on my mobile. The reason for a lot of movements is because I tried to worked out how to reduce the blurring and also to put my mobile clearly in the middle of the frame.

SHOT 6: This clip shows me typing on my mobile in corner of the frame of the camera. In addition there are some of myself nearly dropping my mobile as I was struggling to hold the camera with my right hand.

SHOT 7: Is not really good because it show me typing on my mobile and it should be in the middle of the frame but instead it is only on half the frame. The reason for this is I should have looked at the camera, it could have helped me to find the right place for frame for my mobile.

SHOT 8: This is bit better because I managed to move the camera to aim it at the middle of my mobile though there is some of movement from the start, there is some half frame and some movement from the camera still. I also tried to reduce the blurring on my mobile, I should use the len to work out the right level of blurring vision.

SHOT 9: Mostly better because I managed to get my mobile in full frame while typing on it though it is on my left hand it was difficult because I had to hold it in my left hand I unable to achieve middle of the frame. However, I did improve it by moving my camera to create the full frame with my mobile in the middle.

 

 

 

 

 

DEADLINE: FRIDAY 21ST APRIL 2017


PART FIVE: MAKE IT

 

 

 

 

PART SIX: SCREEN IT

  1. MY PLANS TO SCREEN/ PRESENT MY PRODUCT TO A SPECIFIC AUDIENCE

My final project is a short documentary which is about my experience in mainstream college and how they include deaf students’. After the pre-production, production plus the editing, I will use my film link on YouTube to show my target audience who are both deaf and hearing male and female and their age will be general of eleven upwards.

My film will be screened on YouTube in my blog attached will be my MonkeySurvey link. I will show it to my class at Exeter College which will be hearing such as hearing teachers and students. After that, they can copy the survey link to answer my questions. Every day at the end of the day I will check the result of the survey.

At the same time as that, I will either send both links (my film and survey) through email to my tutor Tobin from the Deaf Academy. Or I will show him my film in my tutorial, and the survey. I will ask him if it is possible to show it to Year 10 and 11 deaf students including Teachers of the Deaf from the Deaf Academy School.

In addition I will send the link of my film and survey through social media such as Facebook to my deaf  and hearing friends plus I will send an email or text to my parents to have a look at my film and give me feedback using my survey.

Lastly, Dean also told me that he knows some Deaf media companies to contact and he has asked me if it is possible to show them my film once I have completed it so they can also give me some feedback using my survey.

SURVEY (from SurveyMonkey):

Question 1 survey

1) I used the Facebook to contact my deaf and hearing friends and I received four deaf and two hearing friends which is total of six.

 

Question 2 survey

2) The graph result show five people aged sixteen to eighteen and a person aged nineteen to twenty-one.

 

Question 3 survey3) This question say my audience if they are enjoyed watching my film which they are, from the result show the six yeses from my audience which suggests that they find my film enjoying and interesting.

 

 

 

Question 4 survey4) The fourth questions show that my audience is enjoy my film and some of them find my film impact on them such as ‘I liked how u put no sound because that show how some/ profound deaf people can hear, nothing.’ and ‘It really opened my eyes’ which represents that my audience become more realistic about my life in the college.

 

Question 5 survey5) I have been ask my audience if there are any necessary to improve my film next time so two comments are similar relate to subtitle which is bit fast for them to read in the middle part of my film.  To improve this problem, I could make sure my signing pace get bit slow so the subtitle could follow its pace.

 

Question 6 survey

Question 6b survey .jpg6) This result show that my audience is clearly understand about my narrative in my film which suggests that they find it very interesting about my life in the college and also they understand it because I add the subtitle to provide the accessible.

 

Question 7 survey

Question 7b survey

7) There are five people thought that my work should be part of the deaf awareness because it is about the life of deaf students in the mainstream college and one person comment that there aren’t lot people know about the British Sign Language and it also useful for the audience to understand what deaf students get through in the mainstream college.

 

 

 

 

Question 8 survey

8) This is the last question and is ask my audience if they think that my film could help the mainstream college from the UK to provide the right supports to deaf children which show five people state yes which suggests  that my film project is helpful for the mainstream college in the UK to improve the deaf students’ needs.

DEADLINE: FRIDAY 19TH MAY 2017


PART SEVEN: EVALUATE THE FINAL PROJECT

  • Did you meet your stated aims?

Yes, because in the survey from question six which is ‘Do you understand the story?’ which show five people clearly understand my narrative in my film and also clearly interesting about my life in mainstream college. They also feel the impact of using no sound in my film and they are clearly understand about my deafness.

 

  • How does your work compare with your chosen practitioner?

My chosen practitioner is deaf director called Ajadi Bim. Firstly, most of his work’s genre are documentary and are relate to deaf issues such as ‘Underwear Rule’ which is similar to mine and plus our work are relate to the deaf awareness. In addition Bim also like to show his film work to both deaf and hearing audience which is what I do. We also like to create the visualisation as we add the subtitle to provide the accessible for both deaf and hearing audience

However, the difference are I am the lone working for the most of time while Bim use his crews to help him with his filming through we use both hearing and deaf actors in our film. In addition my project is

  • Did you make any changes? Why? How did your concept develop? 

In production there are some change in the film for example in pre-production such as script and storyboard I planned to filming a teacher who is speaking out about the lesson section while a CSW will listen and translate BSL for me as I used panning shot film on both a teacher and CSW. This part is about my accessible at the lesson in mainstream college. I have been asked Emily (my tutor in Exeter College) and she unable to but she suggests that I could use a student to do that. Before ask to someone, I have to check with a leader of CSW, Tim to see if any CSWs are happy to involve in filming which he said it should be fine for CSWs to involve in the filming which is relief for me. However, there are some problem like when I ask a person if they are happy to involve in this part of film and after get their permission to involve in the filming and arranging with the date of the filming and on the few day before the filming, I received the email from same person and they unable to do that because they are busying with their course- it is annoyed me a bit because I already booked the filming equipment. Therefore, I am determined to complete this part and I have been ask some people in the class and luckily one of CSWs told me that another CSW- Jean are happy to involve in the film which is the relief for me and I managed to ask a person to involved in my film whose name is Sam Strett and he agree to do that. However this film part are bit different to what I planned in my script and storyboard because in my pre- production state I would like have a person such as teacher to stand in front of the class and talk while a CSW translate BSL for me but it is bit change- I just use bit of panning shot and bit long shot of a person (Sam) who sit beside the CSW and explained the brief about his final major project and a CSW (Jean) translate for me while I use Nikon DRLS camera to film. This part is bit like a group discussion instead of the lecture.

I also changed the way my film look such as the background of the title and credit because it is look bored at first so I add the bright blue background with Exeter College logo style with a title: ‘What is it like to be Deaf in a mainstream college?’ to make it more impact with my audience. Plus, I decided to use the clips of my method of the communication to contain some sounds when hearing peers chatting and when I write on paper and typing on my mobile, the sound is not there because it represents that I am profound deaf without hearing aids and cochlear aids in whole life so I unable to hear.

  • Does the finished product appeal to the target audience?
  • How well does the product reflect your skills and the things you have learnt this year? 

There are few things I have learnt. One is there are some changes in my FMP such as my production (filming section). Just before I started to do the production section, I expected to follow the actual process of my script and storyboard for my filming but there are some change for example in the classroom location and I expected a teacher to involve for the lecture but instead of that, I use a student to involve for the group discussion. It shows me that this issues are normally can happen like in the real life of TV and film industry and this help me to learn how to adapt with this plan and also I could create the note to of Plan B and C etc. to make the improvement in case this plan A is failed.  However it is normally happened to me at this year and I still need to learn from this. Two is the post production (editing section) and there are some new skills I learnt such as adding music and some of the sounds with a help from Emily Manning and I also learnt how to use the right level of the sound to match the film with a help from CSW. This is something I don’t really use for nearly two years and it shows me that I CAN use the music with some help and it also represents that I have ability to break my barriers to use the music and sounds and I find it enjoyment!

In addition I think I improve with my filming than before because before I doing the production, I create the plan with storyboard and script by create the note the name of the type of the shot such as long shot, panning shot e.g. which help me to remember what I want for my filming. Plus, it is my first time using tilt shot when filming myself write on the paper and typing on mobile which is bit hard at first because it have bit of wobble. I also feel I have develop with the understandable and knowledge of use the suitable filming equipment as I use about two different equipment such as Audio Visual which is suitable for my interview and DSLR camera Nikon which is suitable for filming and also it is suitable for documentary as I researched about it before start my production and I also learnt how to reduce the blurring when using DSLR camera Nikon by press gently on silver button.

  • Is it an accurate reflection of your skills? Are you proud of it? 

Yes, because it is my first time to use the music and add some suitable sounds to match my filming and I am enjoy it! I feel I have the ability to use the music and sounds in the future with some help.

  • What would you do differently next time? What did you learn? 

There are the issue in production section (filming) and I need to improve with my timing. Firstly, I need to become more organise by ask people I like to involve in my film in few weeks early before the filming but I don’t. Instead of it, my production and post-production become more delayed because I don’t ask people and it became more difficult for me to do it because the more delay I did, the most likely that people don’t have time to do that as they have to focus to complete their coursework. In the summary of this, I need to think about my timing and also to push the limit of my confidence to ask people. In addition I could have more of time to film a one or two more of deaf friends to interview them about their experience in mainstream college. Plus, I need to adapt quickly with the change of my plan in my final project. I need to become more of the open- minded by create the note the possibly of positive and negative about the Plan A and also create the Plan B and C in case that Plan A is not working.

  • What would you do differently if you had a larger/unlimited budget?  

If I create the similar thing in the future as I did with my FMP, I would spent more money from my budget to find some suitable location for my filming because, in my opinion, some of my location in FMP aren’t bit suitable for example I could use the studio or stand at outside in front of either Exeter College or Exeter Deaf Academy instead my bedroom to create the introduction of my show.

I could also pay the crews to work for my filming and I could use the cameramen/women to help for filming for my introduction and they could film in behind of me while I write and typing to communicate with hearing peers- it means it would be no sign of wobble from the film.

FINAL SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 26TH MAY 2017

Leave a Reply

