UAL Project Proposal

SECTION ONE- Rationale (100-150 words) 143 words

Through two years of the studying on my course I have done a lot of coursework on pre-production, such as storyboarding, scripts etc. In production I learnt how to communicate with hearing peers to improve my confidence. For post- production; I learnt about editing, such as adding subtitles, adding effects to make it interesting for my audience etc. I feel that some of my skills have improved, such as the pre production coursework which I enjoyed the most including the lighting while in production. I use to have some criticism about the lighting but now it’s improved because I used ‘Final Cut Pro’ to change the shade of lighting to make the film easy to see. My decision for my FMP is a short documentary film because it is my final opportunity to show my skills and improvements such as with the lighting.

 

SECTION TWO- Project Concept (200-250 words) 219 words

My idea for my final media project is the short documentary film about Deaf people experience in mainstream college, such as Exeter College. In addition, my aim of the final project is to make my target audience understand what is it like to be Deaf in a mainstream college- what is it like to be Deaf surrounded by hearing peers? How do they cope with hearing peers? What method of the communication the Deaf student uses to communicate with hearing people?

I will use both primary and secondary research; I will research using books from the library to find out about how to create professional vlogs and a documentary film. In addition, I will also use SurveyMonkey to create some questions for my hearing and deaf peers about their experience in mainstream college. For secondary research, I will also look at YouTube for guides from people who create vlogs- how it works and what type of shots and editing they use. I will use the Internet to research information about my chosen practitioner who is a Deaf director called Bim Ajadi, I will his work about ‘Underwear Awareness’. I want to look at how he uses different shots, his style of the editing etc. to help me build an idea of what I would expect from my documentary film.

 

 

SECTION THREE- Evaluation (50- 100 words) 97 words

At the end of each day I will evaluate the progress of my project to explain and how I am doing with my progress through pre -production, production and post -production. I will also explain the positive and negative of my day and suggest any improvements for example if I finish the film early then I could evaluate it to see if there are any necessary improvements like the lighting. In addition I will use production journal to record my progress every day up until the end. I will also add in the date of each day.

 

 

SECTION FOUR- Production Schedule/ Action Plan (no word count)

 

SECTION FIVE- Research Sources/ Bibliography (no word count)

1) List of primary and secondary sources

PRIMARY SOURCE (S) SECONDARY SOURCE (S)
Books Internet
Survey (MonkeySurvey) YouTube

2) Harvard Referencing system:

  1. Primary research:

BOOK

Cottrell Bryant, S. (2006) Videoblogging For Dummies. 1st edn. 111 River Street: For Dummies.

Hampe, B. (2007) Making Documentary Films and Videos. 2nd edn. United States: Henry Holt & Company.

SURVEY

 

Secondary research-INTERNET/YOUTUBE 

Guide of the Vlog

Marcus Butler (2016) Mykonos Summer 2016. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F0LS6f2lxHM (Accessed: 26th February 2017).

PART 2: RESEARCH OF MY PRACTITIONER- BIM AJADI 

 

 

 

 

PART 2: RESEARCH OF MY COMPETITION

  • Limping Chicken (2016) The UK’s leading Deaf Film & Arts Festival. Available at: limpingchicken.com/2016/05/16/watch-channel-4-news-video-on-the-mainstream-school-in-manchester-where-all-children-are-learning-sign-language/ (Accessed: 10th March 2017)

 

PART 2: RESEARCH OF MY TARGET AUDIENCE

 

PART 2: RESEARCH OF MY REGULATION

Ponsford, D. (2015) BBC broke Ofcom rules by broadcasting documentaries secretly funded by special interests. Available at: http://www.pressgazette.co.uk/bbc-flouted-ofcom-rules-broadcasting-documentaries-securely-funded-special-interests/ (Accessed: 13th March 2017).

Ravid, O. (2015) 8 Legal Tips for Documentary Filmmakers. Available at: http://www.indiewire.com/2015/07/8-legal-tips-for-documentary-filmmakers-60449/ (Accessed: 13th March 2017).

PART 2: RESEARCH OF CONCEPTS, IDEA AND TOPICS RELATE TO MY IDEA

PART 2: RESEARCH THE TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS OF THE PROJECT (CONDUCT TEST SHOTS, ROUGH EDITS ETC…)

PART 2: RESEARCH COST/ BUDGET/ PRODUCTION

Leave a Reply

